London Irish’s Chris Hala'ufia copped a five-week ban for this tackle on London Welsh’s Seb Jewell at the weekend, but can he feel hard done by?
There’s no doubting that it was a ferocious hit by the London Irish number eight, who timed the tackle to perfection to catch Jewell as he tried to break the gain line in midfield.
The issue appears to be the way Hala'ufia grounded Jewell after making the tackle as Jewell’s legs were flailing in the air and he appeared to land awkwardly on his neck, so it is up for debate whether or not Hala'ufia brought him to ground safely.
After consultation with his touch judge, the referee decided to brandish a red card, a decision which shocked the London Irish captain and Hala'ufia himself, who still had the decency to shake Jewell’s hand after being given his marching orders.
So should Hala'ufia feel hard done by or was the ref right to send him off?
Have a look in the video above and judge for yourself.