Three lanes of the M7 have now reopened 1 year ago

Three lanes of the M7 have now reopened

The long-awaited €120m upgrade should help the commute.

Three lanes are reopening on the M7 in Kildare this morning, 17 June.


Works to widen the roads between Naas and Newbridge started in January 2018 and the project was due to finish in April, however, it was delayed.

Kildare County Council have now stated that "three lanes will be available to traffic on the M7/N7 Eastbound carriageway from Junction 10 (Naas South) through to Junction 8 (Johnstown)".

The M7 is being widened from two to three lanes on a 13.6km stretch between Naas and Newbridge, between Junction 8 (Johnstown) and Junction 11 where the M7 and M9 meet.

Motorists are advised that the reduced temporary speed limit of 60kph will remain in place while works are ongoing at locations on the verge/hard shoulder area.

The recent renovations are part of a three-phase plan that will cost €120 million. The improvements are designed to ease congestion towards Dublin.

On Monday week, 24 June, three westbound lanes between Johnstown and Naas South should be opening too.

Kildare County Council said: "It is anticipated that, on the week commencing 24 June, three lanes will be available Westbound from Junction 8 (Johnstown), to Junction 10 (Naas South). At that time, the temporary speed limit will be increased on both the Eastbound and Westbound carriageways to 80kph between Junction 8 (Johnstown), to Junction 10 (Naas South).


"Lane restrictions and the 60kph temporary speed limit will remain in place in both directions between Junction 10 (Naas South) and Junction 11 (M7/M9 merge) until further notice."