Search icon


07th Oct 2018

Nirvana reunite and play a six-song set at American music festival

James Dawson

Nirvana’s surviving members got together to perform at the CalJam music festival.

Dave Grohl, Pat Smear and Krist Novoselik have performed Nirvana material together following Foo Fighter’s headline set at CalJam music festival.

Deer Tick’s John McCauley and Joan Jett stood in for the band’s deceased lead singer Kurt Cobain. The group is the same line-up as performed at Nirvana’s induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2014.

The setlist was as follows:

  1. Serve The Servants (w/ John McCauley)
  2. Scentless Apprentice (w/ John McCauley)
  3. In Bloom (w/ John McCauley)
  4. Breed (w/ Joan Jett)
  5. Smells Like Teen Spirit (w/ Joan Jett)
  6. All Apologies (w/ Joan Jett and Brody Dalle)

Iggy Pop, Garbage, Slaves and Tenacious D were among the other bands to perform at the festival.

Kurt Cobain tragically passed away in 1994 and Dave Grohl doesn’t often cover Nirvana songs, but the performance comes after Grohl played Nirvana’s ‘In Bloom’ for only the second time since Kurt Cobain last month.

In 2012 ,the former Nirvana bandmates also played a benefit concert and performed on Saturday Night Live with Paul McCartney filling in for Cobain.

Watch the reformed Nirvana line-up perform together here:

LISTEN: You Must Be Jokin’ with Aideen McQueen – Faith healers, Coolock craic and Gigging as Gaeilge