Facebook announce new measures to fight revenge porn 4 years ago

Facebook announce new measures to fight revenge porn

The social media giant fights back against revenge porn.

Facebook have announced significant new measures to help protect intimate images of people shared by others on social media.

Advertisement

The company - whose European headquarters are based in Dublin - has launched a tool that will enable it to stop 'revenge porn' from appearing on Facebook, Instagram and Messenger.

Facebook announced the following steps on Wednesday:

  • If you see an intimate image on Facebook that looks like it was shared without permission, you can report it by using the “Report” link that appears when you tap on the downward arrow or “...” next to a post.
  • Specially trained representatives from the Community Operations team review the image and remove it if it violates Facebook's Community Standards. In many cases Facebook will also disable the account for sharing intimate images without permission. The company offers an appeals process if someone believes an image was taken down in error.
  • Facebook then uses photo-matching technologies to help thwart further attempts to share the image on Facebook, Messenger, and Instagram. If someone tries to share the image after it's been reported and removed, Facebook will alert them that it violates their policies and that they have stopped their attempt to share it.
  • Facebook also partner with safety organisations to offer resources and support to the victims of this behaviour. 

Facebook - and other social media companies - have worked extensively with the Cyber Civil Rights Initiative (CCRI) to put together this information for people who have been the victims of the posting of revenge porn.

It details how to report and remove any private images from the world's most popular social media platforms.

They also recommend following these steps if you're the victim of the posting of revenge porn.

Reach Out

Advertisement

At CCRI and Facebook, we know how upsetting it can be to find intimate images of yourself online when you didn’t consent to them being shared. Surround yourself with friends, family, or other individuals that will help support you through the next steps.

Consider reaching out to:

  • A local helpline
  • A good friend
  • Therapist/counselor
  • Victim advocate/social worker
  • Sibling or supportive parent
  • Current partner
  • School guidance counsellor

Document EVERYTHING

After you have secured a support network, CCRI recommends that you document the abuse. Consider having someone from your support network in your presence or on the phone when you do this. Documenting the material can be very upsetting and it is recommended that you have as much support as possible during this time.

Advertisement
  • Save the screenshot files to a secure folder on or off (e.g., cloud storage, USB drive) your computer.
  • Consider printing the images and/or threats out.
  • Screenshots and printouts can serve as evidence for you down the road. Directions on creating screenshots can be found in the Facebook Help Center.
  • If you want to pursue legal action, you might need a screenshot or other record of the post.

Report It

Facebook includes a ‘Report’ link on nearly every piece of content and remove reported content that violates the Facebook rules.

  • You can learn more about reporting here
Advertisement

Consider Blocking

You also always have the option to unfollow, unfriend or block the person uploading abusive content. You can take these actions directly from a person’s profile. Facebook will not notify the other person.

  • UNFOLLOW: When you unfollow someone, you won’t see their posts in your News Feed, but you’ll still be friends with them. They will continue to see your updates.
  • UNFRIEND: This person is removed as a connection to you. If you want to be friends with this person again, you’ll need to send a new friend request.
  • BLOCK: People you block can no longer see things you post on your profile, tag you, invite you to events or group, start a conversation with you or add you as a friend. Keep in mind that taking these actions may prevent you from having access to see future or previous content posted by that person.