Met Éireann issue weather warning for nine counties 1 year ago

Met Éireann issue weather warning for nine counties

Wet hot summer.

Parts of Ireland are expected to experience temperatures in the high twenties over the coming week, but that's not enough to spare us from some severe bursts of rain.

So severe, in fact, that Met Éireann has issued a status yellow weather warning for nine counties: Galway, Mayo, Sligo, Roscommon, Leitrim, Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal and Longford.

Met Éireann warns: "Through today and tonight, falls of heavy rain will give high rainfall totals with reduced visibility and a risk of localised flooding."

The warning was issued at 7am on Sunday morning and will remain in effect until 7am on Monday morning (22 July) pending up dates from Met Éireann.

There is also a small craft warning in effect off the coast of Ireland today, where it is expected that wind speeds will reach force six or higher. This warning applies to all Irish coasts.

You can keep up-to-date with all weather warnings here.