Met Éireann issues thunderstorm warning for nine counties 6 months ago

Met Éireann issues thunderstorm warning for nine counties

Expect thunder, lightning and hail.

Met Éireann has issued a Status Yellow thunderstorm warning for nine counties in Ireland.


The warning affects Carlow, Dublin, Kilkenny, Louth, Meath, Wexford, Wicklow, Cork and Waterford.

It comes into effect at 2pm on Tuesday and will remain in place until 8pm on Tuesday evening.

Met Éireann warned that thundery showers with the risk of lightning and local hail will affect these counties.

There will be sunny spells and scattered showers throughout the day, but the showers will become heavier and more widespread in the afternoon.

The thundery falls will be focused mainly across the midlands, east and southeast of the country, while it will become drier across the west and northwest of the country on Tuesday evening.

Overnight, scattered showers will be prevalent in the northern half of the country but many other areas will remain dry.

However, it will be chilly with temperatures falling to between 1 degrees and 5 degrees in some areas.


Wednesday looks set to be a brighter day and while there will be some scattered showers, particularly in the north and south, overall there will be a lot of dry weather.