Seven leaders announced for RTÉ's multi-party debate 8 months ago

Seven leaders announced for RTÉ's multi-party debate

RTÉ have confirmed that seven party leaders will be on-stage for the national broadcaster's multi-party debate next week.

The debate, which will be hosted in NUI Galway, is set to air live on Monday 27 January at 9.35pm.

The seven leaders who will share the stage are: Mary Lou McDonald (Sinn Féin), Leo Varadkar (Fine Gael), Brendan Howlin (Labour), Micheál Martin (Fianna Fáil), Richard Boyd Barrett (Solidarity/People Before Profit), Eamon Ryan (Green Party) and Roísín Shortall (Social Democrats).

Speaking ahead of the broadcast, moderator and presenter Claire Byrne said: "I am really looking forward to bringing the national debate to Galway.

"I want voters to get a clear picture of what each party is offering. We'll be teasing out the key policies with the seven leaders with the sole aim of giving voters the information they need before they head to the polling booth on February 8th."

President of NUI Galway Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh said: "The University is 175 this year, and our city is European Capital of Culture, so it’s fitting that the leaders of our country’s parties will meet here to outline their visions for the future of the nation.  We look forward to welcoming them to the West at this important moment of decision-making in our nation’s history."

Additionally, RTÉ will be hosting a head-to-head debate between Micheál Martin and Leo Varadkar.

The first debate of the general election will take place on Virgin Media tonight (22 January), as Pat Kenny moderates a head-to-head between Varadkar and Martin.