A dozen for the Dubs as All-Ireland Champs dominate All-Star nominations 8 years ago

A dozen for the Dubs as All-Ireland Champs dominate All-Star nominations

All-Ireland Champions Dublin have 12 representatives amongst the 45 GAA GPA Gaelic Football All-Star nominees announced overnight.

Following their triumph over Mayo in last month’s All-Ireland Final, a dozen of Jim Gavin’s squad have been granted All-Star nominations, with the Green and Red following closely behind with ten nominees overall.


Despite being defeated by Tyrone in the All-Ireland quarter-final, Monaghan are the next best represented county with six nominations, followed by five and four for All-Ireland semi-finalists Kerry and Tyrone respectively.

Cavan’s excellent campaign has been rewarded with three nominations, while Cork, Meath, Donegal and Galway have one apiece. In a historic development, Cavan native Lorcan Mulvey has become the first London player ever to be nominated for an All-Star on the back of a brilliant season for the Exiles which included a Connacht Final defeat to Mayo and defeat to Cavan in the last 16 at Croke Park.

Bookies’ favourite Michael Darragh McCauley has been nominated for the Footballer of the Year award alongside Dublin teammate Stephen Cluxton and Mayo’s Lee Keegan, while as well as being nominated for an All-Star, Cillian O’Connor will be aiming to win his third Young Footballer of the Year award in a row having been nominated alongside Dublin duo Jack McCaffrey and Paul Mannion.

The final selection will be announced live on Friday, November 8 at the All-Star banquet at Croke Park.


2013 GAA/GPA All-Star nominees


Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

Robert Hennelly (Mayo)


Rory Beggan (Monaghan)

Full backs

Rory O’Carroll (Dublin)

Ger Cafferkey (Mayo)


Keith Higgins (Mayo)

Colin Walshe (Monaghan)

Killian Clarke (Cavan)

Chris Barrett (Mayo)

Drew Wylie (Monaghan)


Cathal McCarron (Tyrone)

Marc Ó Sé (Kerry)

Half backs

Conor Gormley (Tyrone)

Colm Boyle (Mayo)

Lee Keegan (Mayo)

Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin)

Donal Vaughan (Mayo)

James McCarthy (Dublin)

Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

Dessie Mone (Monaghan)

James Loughrey (Cork)


Michael Darragh McCauley (Dublin)

Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)

Séamus O’Shea (Mayo)

Darren Hughes (Monaghan)

Paul Conroy (Galway)

Anthony Maher (Kerry)

Half forwards

Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone)

Colm Cooper (Kerry)

Cian Mackey (Cavan)

Paul Flynn (Dublin)

Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)

Donnacha Walsh (Kerry)

Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)

Matthew Donnelly (Tyrone)

Lorcan Mulvey (London)

Full forwards

Bernard Brogan (Dublin)

James O’Donoghue (Kerry)

Martin Dunne (Cavan)

Paul Mannion (Dublin)

Conor McManus (Monaghan)

Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)

Paddy Andrews (Dublin)

Colm McFadden (Donegal)

Michael Newman (Meath)

Player of the Year Nominees

Michael Darragh McCauley (Dublin)

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

Lee Keegan (Mayo)

Young Player of the Year Nominees

Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)

Paul Mannion (Dublin)