The nominations for the 2015 GAA/GPA Gaelic Football All-Stars have been announced 6 years ago

The nominations for the 2015 GAA/GPA Gaelic Football All-Stars have been announced

No prizes for guessing which team has the most nominees.

All-Ireland Champions Dublin dominate the list of nominees for the 2015 GAA/GPA Gaelic Football All-Star team that has been released this morning.


11 players from Jim Gavin’s outfit have been nominated for individual awards in all areas of the pitch in what is a changed system from previous years.

This year, players have been nominated in broader categories of goalkeepers, defenders, midfielders and forwards rather than in individual positions; appropriately, this is to reflect the fact that positions don’t seem to matter a great deal in Gaelic Football anymore.

Defeated finalists Kerry have the next greatest number of nominees with eight, followed by seven apiece for Mayo and Tyrone, five for Donegal, four for Monaghan and one apiece for Fermanagh, Westmeath and Laois.

GAA Football All Ireland Senior Championship Semi-Final, Croke Park, Dublin 23/8/2015 Kerry vs Tyrone Tyrone's Sean Cavanagh Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Dublin have a clean sweep of nomination for the Footballer of the Year award, with Bernard Brogan, Philly McMahon and Jack McCaffrey all in contention, while Mayo’s Diarmuid O’Connor will battle it out for the Young Player of the Year award with Monaghan’s Ryan Wylie and Donegal’s Ryan McHugh.

The Gaelic Football and Hurling All-Star teams will be named at the beginning of next month, with the nominees for the Hurling team set to be revealed tomorrow.

2015 GAA/GPA All-Star nominations


Goalkeepers: Paul Durcan (Donegal), Brendan Kealy (Kerry), Rory Beggan (Monaghan)

Defenders: Frank McGlynn (Donegal), Ryan McHugh (Donegal), James McCarthy (Dublin), Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin), Rory O’Carroll (Dublin), Jonny Cooper (Dublin), Jack McCaffrey (Dublin), Philip McMahon (Dublin), Shane Enright (Kerry), Jonathan Lyne (Kerry), Keith Higgins (Mayo), Lee Keegan (Mayo), Chris Barrett (Mayo), Vinny Corey (Monaghan), Karl O’Connell (Monaghan), Cathal McCarron (Tyrone), Ronan McNamee (Tyrone), Ronan McNabb (Tyrone)

Midfielders: Neil Gallagher (Donegal), Brian Fenton (Dublin), Anthony Maher (Kerry), David Moran (Kerry), Tom Parsons (Mayo), Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)

Forwards: Michael Murphy (Donegal), Paddy Andrews (Dublin), Bernard Brogan (Dublin), Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin), Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin), Seán Quigley (Fermanagh), Donnchadh Walsh (Kerry), Paul Geaney (Kerry), James O’Donoghue (Kerry), Donie Kingston (Laois), Cillian O’Connor (Mayo), Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo), Aidan O’Shea (Mayo), Conor McManus (Monaghan) Peter Harte (Tyrone), Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone), Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone), Kieran Martin (Westmeath)

Footballer of the Year: Bernard Brogan (Dublin), Philly McMahon (Dublin), Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)


Young Footballer of the Year: Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo), Ryan McHugh (Donegal), Ryan Wylie (Monaghan)