New Facebook feature allows users to 'take a break' from their exes
Facebook is introducing a new feature which will allow users to "take a break" from their ex on the social media platform upon breaking up.
The new tool is just one in a range of new features being rolled out in an attempt to affect the user's mood in a more positive way.
Now, when a user changes their relationship status from "in a relationship" to "single", Facebook prompts them, asking if they would like to use the "Take A Break" tool, taking control over when exactly they see their ex on Facebook, what their ex can see and who can see their past posts.
Upon choosing to see them less, their posts (including posts they're tagged in) won't appear in your News Feed and you won't be prompted to message them or tag them in photos.
If you choose to restrict what your ex sees, they will be added to a Restricted List and will only see posts you tag them in or share publicly.
And finally, one last measure you can take to avoid them encroaching on your life involves restricting your previous posts, meaning they can only be seen by the people that are tagged in them.
These tools can be reverted back at any time, too.
This comes after the social media giant states that following research on peoples' experiences after breakups, they've noticed that seeing an ex-partner’s online activities can make emotional recovery more difficult.