Search icon


10th Oct 2015

All the big winners from the 2015 PPI Radio Awards

Well done to all

Conor Heneghan

If the radio sounds a little hungover this morning, there’s a good reason why.

That’s because the great and the good of Irish radio were in the Radisson Hotel in Galway last night for this year’s edition of the PPI Radio Awards.

700 guests attended and Barry Murphy acted as MC on the night; we can only imagine the celebrations went on long into the night because there were a lot of awards to hand out.

You can see the list in full below.

Congratulations to all the winners on a great achievement.

The 2015 PPI Radio Awards winners

Category A1 General Music Programme

Dermot & Dave – Today FM

Category A2 Specialist Music Programme

American Country Show with Stephen Keogh – kfm

Category A3 Breakfast Programme

The Ian Dempsey Breakfast Show – Today FM

Category A4 Music Special/Music Event

ALT – Spin South West

Category A5 New Irish Music/Musical Talent

The Listening Post – Blood Harmonies – 105.2 TXFM

Category B1 News Story

To Catch a Paedophile – The Neil Prendeville Show – Red FM

Category B2 News Bulletin

98FM News – 98FM

Category B3 News Programme

This Week – RTÉ Radio 1

Category B4 Current Affairs Programme

Cork Today  – C103

Category B5 Sports Story

Goodbye King Henry – Today FM

Category B6 Sports Programme

Off the Ball – Newstalk 106-108

Category C1 Documentary

Con Carey and the Twelve Apostles – RTÉ Radio 1 Documentary on One

Category C2 Music Documentary

From Dancehall Days to Boogie Nights – RTÉ Radio 1

Category C3 Short Feature

The Four Elements: Water – Futureproof – Newstalk 106-108

Category C4 Magazine Programme

The John Toal Show – BBC Radio Ulster

Category C5 Drama

Left Behind – Shannonside Northern Sound

Category C6 Specialist Speech Programme

Phoenix from the Ashes – The Rise and Restoration of St. Mel’s Cathedral, Longford – Shannonside Northern Sound

Category C7 Craoltóireacht le Gaeilge

Muidne agus na Manannaigh – BBC Radio Ulster

Category C8 Interactive Speech Programme

The Niall Boylan Show – 4FM

Category C9 Comedy Programme

The Blame Game – BBC Radio Ulster

Category D1 Community/ Social Action

Galway Bay FM Radiothon – Making a Difference – Galway Bay FM

Category D2 On-Air Competition

The Drop – Spin 103.8

Category D3 Station Imaging


Category D4 Entertainment Inserts

Gift Grub – The Ian Dempsey Breakfast Show – Today FM

Category D5 Innovation

The Feed – RTÉ Radio 1 Extra

Category E1 Music Presenter of the Year

Dara Quilty – 98FM

Category E2  Radio DJ

Steve K – Spin 103.8

Category E3 Specialist Music Broadcaster of the Year

Stephen McCauley – BBC Radio Foyle

Category E4 News Broadcaster of the Year

Richard Crowley – RTÉ Radio 1

Category E5 News Reporter of the Year

Jordan Moates – Downtown Radio

Category E6 Sports Broadcaster of the Year

Joe Molloy – Newstalk

Category E7 Speech Broadcaster of the Year

Damien O’Reilly – RTÉ Radio 1

Category E8 Newcomer Award

Luke O’Faolain – Beat 102-103

Outstanding Achievement Awards were presented to RTÉ Radio 1 for The Road to the Rising & 98FM for The Naked Breakfast with The Ray Foley Show.

Hall of Fame

Gerry Anderson RIP – BBC Radio Foyle (accepted by Colum Arbuckle)

Pat Balfe – Communicorp

Des Cahill – RTÉ Radio 1

Henry Condon RIP – Independent Broadcasters of Ireland (accepted by Becky Condon)

LISTEN: You Must Be Jokin’ with Aideen McQueen – Faith healers, Coolock craic and Gigging as Gaeilge