Music | 1 week ago

Contenders, ready...

The RTÉ Choice Music Prize returns once again to crown the Irish Album of the Year gone by.

The nominees were unveiled on The Tracy Clifford Show by Choice chairman Tony Clayton-Lea on 2FM on Wednesday afternoon.

The 10 albums shortlisted by this year's judges are as follows:

Come On Live Long | In The Still [Self-released]

Marlene Enright | Placements and Second Cuts [Self-released]

Fangclub | Fangclub [Universal]

Lankum| Beneath the Earth and Sky [Rough Trade]

James Vincent McMorrow | True Care [Faction Records]


New Jackson | From Night to Night [All City Records]

Otherkin | OK [Rubyworks]

Fionn Regan | The Meetings of the Waters [Abbey Records]

Ships | Precession [Ships Music]

Talos | Wild Alee [Feel Good Lost]

So there's your line-up, several of which took pride of place on JOE's own Top 10 Irish Albums of 2017 rundown.

The ceremony takes place in Vicar Street on Thursday, 8 March 2018, with €10,000 going to the winning act following deliberation by a judging panel of industry experts.

The shortlist for the public-vote RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Song of The Year 2017 will be announced on Wednesday, 31 January.


While you're here...

Follow on Instagram by clicking here or ON THE GIGANTIC PIC BELOW!

Go on, you know you want to...

Read more about:

Music, Choice Music Prize