Search icon


31st May 2018

LISTEN: Gorillaz have just released arguably the most summer-y sounding song ever

Rory Cashin

Jack Black pops up on the video, and the full details of the new album have also been announced.

Gorillaz released their debut, self-titled album in 2001, followed by Demon Days in 2005, then Plastic Beach in 2010, and most recently Humanz in 2017. (The less said about 2011’s weird in-between’y release The Fall, the better.)

So they’re well known for taking long breaks between projects, which is why it is such a nice surprise that their new album – The Now Now – is set for release on Friday 29 June this year.

Additionally, they’ve just dropped the music video for the album’s first single, ‘Humility’, and it features the Gorillaz gang in a full-on summer vibe, and Jack Black doing his best Venice Beach busking.

Clip via Gorillaz

On top of that, the full tracklisting for the new album has also been released, and following on from the feature-heavy set-list from Humanz, there are very few guests to be found this time around:

1. ‘Humility’ (feat. George Benson)
2. ‘Tranz’
3. ‘Hollywood’ (feat. Snoop Dogg and Jamie Principle)
4. ‘Kansas’
5. ‘Sorcererz’
6. ‘Idaho’
7. ‘Lake Zurich’
8. ‘Magic City’
9. ‘Fire Flies’
10. ‘One Percent’
11. ‘Souk Eye’

The entire album was produced by James Ford, of Simian Mobile Disco fame, who was also producer on the most recent albums by both Arctic Monkeys and Florence & The Machine.

We imagine anyone heading along to their gig on Saturday 9 June at Malahide Castle will get some previews of the new album.