Music | 9 months ago

This also caps a massive 2016 for the likes of Lisa Hannigan, We Cut Corners and The Divine Comedy.

The shortlist for this year's RTÉ Choice Music Prize, Irish Album of the Year 2016 has been announced.

Without any further ado...

All Tvvins - IIVV (Warner Music)
Bantum - Move (Self Released)
Wallis Bird - Home (Mount Silver / Caroline International)
The Divine Comedy - Foreverland (Divine Comedy Records)
Lisa Hannigan - At Swim (Hoop Recordings)
Katie Kim - Salt (Art For Blind Records)
James Vincent McMorrow - We Move (Faction Records)
Overhead, The Albatross - Learning to Growl (Self Released)
Rusangano Family - Let The Dead Bury The Dead (Self Released)
We Cut Corners - The Cadences Of Others (Delphi)

RTÉ 2fm is celebrating the announcement of the shortlist across its schedule all day today with All Irish Music All Day from 6am to midnight, as well as live sessions by last year’s winner, Soak, and 2012 winners, Delorentos

There will also be a two-hour special on this year's shortlist, presented by Conor Behan from 8pm-10pm.

RTÉ 2fm will continue to mark the announcement of the shortlist this week and beyond through a mix of airplay of tracks from the shortlisted albums, interviews with this year’s shortlisted artists and live performances.


The shortlisted albums can be enjoyed in full on the RTÉ Choice Music Prize website. The winning album will be announced at the RTÉ Choice Music Prize live event, held in Vicar Street, Dublin on Thursday 9 March 2017.

While you're here, check out Episode 25 of The JOE Show...

Read more about:

Choice Music Prize