These 38 areas in Ireland are discharging raw sewage into the environment 3 years ago

These 38 areas in Ireland are discharging raw sewage into the environment

The number is down from last year's report.

Ireland is not investing quickly enough in infrastructure that is needed to treat our waste water according to the new report from the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).


In its report on Urban Waste Water Treatment in 2017, the EPA revealed that while six urban centres have stopped releasing waste water untreated into the environment.

However, there are 38 areas where waste water is collected in public sewers and then released into the environment without receiving treatment.

Irish Water has committed to provide treatment for 33 of these areas by the end of 2021. A further three are to receive treatment in 2023, one in 2025 and Irish Water has not provided details on when it will connect the remaining area to treatment.

Untreated waste water is more commonly referred to as raw sewage, and it can be contaminated with harmful bacteria and viruses. It can also pose a health risk to people who come into contact with infected water, and can threaten aquatic ecosystems and the amenity value of our waters.


Listed below are the areas where waste water is released into the environment without treatment:

Donegal: Farragher, Kilcar, Burtonport, Kerrykeel, Moville, Rathmullan, Ramelton and Coolatee Housing Scheme.

Mayo: Killala and Newport.

Galway: Roundstone, Carraroe, Spiddel and Ahascragh.


Clare: Ballyvaughan, Liscannor, Kilkee, Clarecastle and Kilrush.

Limerick: Foynes and Glin.

Cork: Castletownbere, Castletownshend, Inchigeelagh, Timoleague, Passage-Monkstown, Cobh, Ringaskiddy Village, Whitegate-Agahda and Ballycotton.

Wexford: Ballyhack, Duncannon, Kilmore Quay and Arthurstown.


Wicklow: Avoca and Arklow.

Dublin: Howth.

Louth: Omeath.