Search icon


10th Mar 2016

Seán Ó Feargháil has been elected as the brand new Ceann Comhairle by the 32nd Dáil

Colm Boohig

Fianna Fáil’s Seán Ó Feargháil is the chosen one.

The Kildare South TD Seán Ó Feargháil has been elected as the new Ceann Comhairle.

The Fianna Fáil politician, who beat Fine Gael’s Andrew Doyle to the position, will chair the 32nd Dáil after being elected by secret ballot – the first time that has ever happened when choosing the chairperson of a new Dáil.

A total of 157 of the 158 TDs voted, with Independent TD Michael Lowry the only one not to do so.

The official result will be announced at 2.30pm, when the Dáil resumes.

Cover image via The Irish Times.

LISTEN: You Must Be Jokin’ with Aideen McQueen – Faith healers, Coolock craic and Gigging as Gaeilge