Boris Johnson has been banned from entering Russia 7 months ago

Boris Johnson has been banned from entering Russia

He is among a number of top UK officials no longer allowed to enter the country.

UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson has been banned from Russia, with the country sanctioning him and other top UK officials.


Among those also affected are UK Foreign Secretary Liz Truss and UK Secretary for Defence Ben Wallace.

The Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs said the action was taken in response to the British Government's "unprecedented hostile actions" following Russia's invasion of Ukraine.

In particular, it cited the UK's imposition of sanctions against top Russian officials.

"This step was taken as a response to London's unbridled information and political campaign aimed at isolating Russia internationally, creating conditions for containing our country and strangling the domestic economy," Russia's Foreign Ministry wrote in a statement.


"In essence, the British leadership is deliberately aggravating the situation around Ukraine, pumping the Kyiv regime with lethal weapons and coordinating similar efforts on the part of NATO."

You can see the full list of UK officials no longer allowed to enter Russia below:

  • Prime Minister Boris Johnson
  • Foreign Secretary Liz Truss
  • Defence Secretary Ben Wallace
  • Deputy Prime Minister, Lord Chancellor, and Secretary of State for Justice Dominic Raab
  • Secretary of State for Transport Grant Shapps
  • Home Secretary Priti Patel
  • The Chancellor Rishi Sunak
  • Minister of Entrepreneurship, Energy and Industrial Strategy Kwasi Kwarteng
  • Minister of Digitalization, Culture, Media and Sport Nadine Dorries
  • Minister for the Armed Forces James Heappey
  • First Minister of Scotland Nicola Sturgeon
  • Attorney General for England and Wales Suella Braverman
  • Conservative MP and former British Prime Minister Theresa May