Ireland included on official list of countries deemed "unfriendly" to Russia 1 year ago

Ireland included on official list of countries deemed "unfriendly" to Russia

It's quite the list.

Ireland has been named on an official Russian government list of countries it deems "unfriendly" to Russia.


Unveiled on Monday (7 March), the far-ranging list includes all countries in the European Union in addition to the USA, the UK, Japan, Australia and plenty more.

The countries and regions are highlighted for either imposing or endorsing sanctions levelled against Russia following its military invasion of Ukraine in February.

Russian government communication continues to refer to the invasion as a "special military operation".

Ireland has reportedly taken in 1,800 Ukrainian refugees since the invasion began.


The full list is as follows:

  • All countries in the European Union
  • Australia
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Iceland
  • Canada
  • Liechtenstein
  • Monaco
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Korea
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Taiwan
  • Ukraine
  • Montenegro
  • Switzerland
  • Japan

According to the Russian government, the countries listed commit unfriendly actions against Russia, its companies and its citizens.

Russian authorities are encouraging the country's citizens to pay any debts to foreign creditors in roubles.


Speaking on Friday night's edition of The Late Late Show, Taoiseach Micheál Martin referred to Russian president Vladimir Putin as "an evil man".

"I get very angry when I think about him," Martin said.

"He's an evil man as far as I'm concerned. Absolutely dangerous and doing untold damage to people... to the people of Ukraine but also changing fundamentally the multilateral rules-based order that we all adhere to and cherish so much."

It follows on from similar comments in Dáil Éireann last week in which the Taoiseach labelled Putin "a bully and a thug".


Featured Image of Micheál Martin via Leah Farrell /