Met Éireann issues another snow and ice warning for 23 counties on Thursday 3 months ago

Met Éireann issues another snow and ice warning for 23 counties on Thursday

Take note.

Met Éireann has issued a Status Yellow snow and ice warning for 23 counties in Ireland on Thursday.


The warning, affecting Munster, Connacht and Leinster, comes into effect at 8am on Thursday morning and expires at 8am on Friday morning.

Met Éireann said a band of snow spreading northeastwards on Thursday will bring snow across Ireland with accumulations of 5cm in some areas and even more on mountainous areas.

However, from Thursday night, it will transition to rain and sleet in most areas.

It is the second warning issued by Met Éireann today after a separate snow and ice warning was issued for eight counties from 8am on Tuesday until 6pm on Wednesday.

It covers Dublin, Kildare, Louth, Wicklow, Westmeath, Meath, Cavan and Monaghan.

The Met Office also issued a snow and ice warning for Antrim, Armagh and Down from 4pm on Tuesday until 11am on Wednesday.

It said scattered snow showers blowing in from the Irish Sea may cause minor travel disruption in these areas.


AA Ireland said people who need to travel should exercise caution due to potentially icy and hazardous conditions.

“On icy roads it can take much longer to bring your car to a stop in an emergency, so it’s important that you reduce your speed and allow extra distance between yourself and other road users," Conor Faughnan, AA Director of Consumer Affairs said.