Snow and ice warning extended on Wednesday morning to 10 counties 9 months ago

Snow and ice warning extended on Wednesday morning to 10 counties

'Tis chilly.

Met Éireann has extended its Status Yellow snow and ice warning on Wednesday morning to include 10 counties.


The warning, issued at 8am on Wednesday, covers Dublin, Kildare, Louth, Wexford, Wicklow, Westmeath, Meath, Cavan, Monaghan and Waterford.

Valid from 8am, the warning remains in place until 9pm on Wednesday night.

Met Éireann said there will be scattered hail and snow showers in these counties with some accumulations in places and icy stretches on untreated surfaces.

As reported yesterday, a Status Yellow snow and ice warning will then come into effect on Thursday morning from 8am until 8am on Friday.

The warning affects Munster, Connacht and Leinster.

Met Éireann said a band of snow spreading northeastwards on Thursday will bring snow across Ireland with accumulations of 5cm in some areas and even more on mountainous areas.

However, from Thursday night, it will transition to rain and sleet in most areas.


AA Ireland said people who need to travel should exercise caution due to potentially icy and hazardous conditions.

“On icy roads it can take much longer to bring your car to a stop in an emergency, so it’s important that you reduce your speed and allow extra distance between yourself and other road users," Conor Faughnan, AA Director of Consumer Affairs said.