Search icon


08th Feb 2021

Status Yellow snow warning issued for six counties

Rudi Kinsella

snow ireland

It’s pretty nippy out there, lads.

A Status Yellow weather warning has been issued for six counties across Ireland.

Dublin, Kildare, Louth, Wicklow, Meath and Monaghan are the counties affected by the warning, which was issued on Monday evening.

Met Éireann warned that there will be snowy and icy conditions from 6pm on Monday evening until the same time the following day.

Snow accumulations will reach 2 to 5 cm in certain places.

While Monday was a freezing day for the majority of the country, Tuesday will be another cold, breezy and mostly dull day, with scattered showers of sleet and snow expected at times through the day.

So make sure you have an extra blanket and maybe even a hot water bottle in the bed tonight.

Similarly, the UK Met Office issued a similar warning for Antrim, Armagh, Down and Tyrone.

It warned that there will be snow showers and icy stretches over parts of Northern Ireland, leading to some “travel disruption”.

Further information can be found on the Met Éireann website here.