Search icon


20th Feb 2019

Three MPs have quit the Conservative Party to join The Independent Group

Rory Cashin

Theresa May

This will be a major blow to Theresa May.

There had been some loud rumblings that several members of the Conversative Party were considering abandoning ship in favour of a competing party, and today that has been confirmed.

Heidi Allen, Sarah Wollaston and Anna Soubry announced on Wednesday morning that they have quit the Conservative Party and joined the Independent Group.

Anna Soubry tweeted out her statement about leaving the party:

Additionally, Sarah Wollaston made the announcement via her official website, with the opening paragraph of the statement as follows:

“With regret, I have decided to resign the Conservative Party whip. I am passionate about this constituency and proud to have been the first Conservative parliamentary candidate to be selected via a full open postal primary. This gave every registered voter in the Totnes constituency, regardless of party affiliation, the opportunity to decide which Conservative candidate they would prefer. From the outset, I have made the case for a centrist, moderate and outward looking approach to our politics.”

These three MPs will join the ‘gang of eight’ – Chuka Umunna, Luciana Berger, Gavin Shuker, Angela Smith, Ann Coffey, Mike Gapes, Chris Leslie and Joan Ryan – who all quit the Labour party earlier this week to form the new pro-EU grouping in Parliament.

With May heading to Brussels in order to secure the Brexit deal with less than 40 days left before the date of action (Friday 29 March), the departure of these three high-profile MPs is said to mark a major blow in the confidence of the UK’s current Prime Minister.

LISTEN: You Must Be Jokin’ with Aideen McQueen – Faith healers, Coolock craic and Gigging as Gaeilge