Two new weather warnings have been issued by Met Éireann 1 year ago

Two new weather warnings have been issued by Met Éireann

Met Éireann has issued two new weather warnings affecting seven counties.

The first is a Status Yellow wind warning for Wexford, Wicklow, Cork, Kerry and Waterford, which comes into effect at 6pm on Wednesday and expires at 2am on Thursday morning.


A Status Yellow wind warning was also issued for Dublin and Louth and is valid from 11pm on Wednesday until 3am on Thursday.

Met Éireann said winds will gust between 90 to 100 km/hr in these areas, mainly along the coast and on high ground.

On Tuesday, a nationwide Status Yellow snow and ice warning was issued but this warning was updated on Wednesday and now only affects Connacht, Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Dublin, Louth and Wicklow.

It comes into effect at 8pm on Wednesday and is valid until 10am on Thursday morning.

It will be icy overnight and some snow accumulations are possible before morning, mainly across the north and on higher ground.

Wind and rain will be the order of the days over the weekend, when Storm Dennis could become the second storm to hit Ireland in successive weekends.

Dennis, should he arrive, is not expected to be as severe as Storm Ciara.