The draw for Euro 2020 has been made and here's who Ireland could be facing 3 years ago

The draw for Euro 2020 has been made and here's who Ireland could be facing

COYBIG! The Euro 2020 draw has been made.



Right now, 'if' is the important word for the Republic of Ireland as the final draw for the group stages of Euro 2020 was made in Bucharest.

If the Republic of Ireland can beat Slovakia in March and then beat the winner of Bosnia-Herzegovina vs Northern Ireland in the play-off final - another away fixture for Mick McCarthy's men - then a fourth appearance in the European Championships is a certainty.

However, it's worth noting that it has been three years since the Republic of Ireland have won back-to-back away games. That last time before that was 2012.

Hope springs eternal that Ireland will be able to qualify for three European Championships in a row.


After finishing third in their qualification group behind Switzerland and Denmark, the familiar play-off route is Ireland's fate and should they beat Slovakia and the winner of Bosnia-Herzegovina vs Northern Ireland, the boys in green will be taking on Spain, Poland, and Sweden at the Euros.

All matches in Group E will be played in Dublin and Bilbao.

Elsewhere, there's the enticing prospect of Group F with Portugal, France, Germany all taking on each other. Now that's a group of death!

Elsewhere, England vs Croatia, Wales vs Italy, and Belgium vs Russia are bound to be crackers.


Of course, in terms of host nations, the structure of Euro 2020 is vastly different to previous iterations of the tournament. The tournament is scheduled to be held in 12 cities in 12 UEFA countries from 12 June to 12 July 2020. Dublin is one of those cities with matches scheduled to take place at the Aviva on 15, 19, and 24 June.

The Aviva will also host a round of 16 knockout match on 30 June.

Portugal are the defending champions, having won the 2016 tournament in France.

Here are the groups for Euro 2020 in full;


Group A: Italy, Switzerland, Turkey, Wales.

Group B: Belgium, Russia, Denmark, Finland.

Group C: Ukraine, Netherlands, Austria, Winner of Georgia/Belarus vs North Macedonia/Kosovo play-off.

Group D: England, Croatia, Czech Republic, Winner of Scotland/Israel v Norway/Serbia play-off.

Group E: Spain, Poland, Sweden, Winner of Bosnia-Herzegovina/Northern Ireland vs Slovakia/Republic of Ireland play-off.


Group F: Germany, France, Portugal, Winner of Bulgaria/Hungary vs Iceland/Romania play-off.