Snapchat warns of consequences for users who change back to the old way of using the app 3 years ago

Snapchat warns of consequences for users who change back to the old way of using the app

Not surprisingly, Snapchat wants people to adapt to the app’s controversial new look.

Snapchat has warned that users who use unofficial methods to change Snapchat back to the way it worked before its controversial new redesign may be permanently locked out of their account or lose memories they had stored on the app.

Advertisement

To say that the new redesign hasn’t exactly gone down well with Snapchat’s millions of users would be an understatement and many people gladly availed of tips over the weekend to change it back to the way it had looked and worked before.

Over the weekend, Snapchat warned users of the dangers of losing memories if reinstalling or logging out of the app, but they have since gone a step further.

A post on Twitter by Snapchat Support earlier this week warned Snapchat users not to believe everything they read on the internet and instead encouraged anyone seeking assistance to refer to the Snapchat Update FAQ on the Snapchat support website.

Advertisement

Changes as radical as the ones introduced by Snapchat are always likely to have teething problems, but the backlash has been quite significant.

As of Tuesday morning, for example, a petition on Change.org to remove the new update has attracted over 660,000 of a targeted one million signatures.

The company itself is of the belief that they’ll be able to ride this storm out, however, with a spokesperson telling CNN: “Updates as big as this one can take a little getting used to, but we hope the community will enjoy it once they settle in.”

We’ll have to see about that.