Arjen Robben apologises for diving but insists penalty appeal was legit 6 years ago

Arjen Robben apologises for diving but insists penalty appeal was legit

The Bayern Munich winger held his hands up about an incident earlier in the game.

Arjen Robben has apologised for diving during the Netherland's last 16 win over Mexico on Sunday evening.

The 30-year-old admitted going to ground early in the game but said that Rafael Marquez did foul him for the decisive spot-kick.

"I must apologise," Robben was quoted as telling Nederlandse Omroep Stichting. "The one [at the end] was a penalty, but the other one was a dive in the first half. I shouldn't be doing that."

Mexico manager Miguel Herrera was furious with both Robben and the match officials after his side exited the tournament.

"Out of the four matches here in all of them the refereeing was disastrous," Herrera said.

"Robben did three dives and he should have been cautioned. You should caution a guy who is trying to cheat, and then if Robben did it again he would be sent off.

"And why did Fifa choose a referee from the same confederation as Holland instead of one from South America, Asia or Africa?

"The doubtful decisions were always against us. We have to say it in capital letters, in three matches we had horrible refereeing. The man with the whistle knocked us.

"I want the referee committee to take a look and that the referee goes home just like us."