Search icon

Movies & TV

23rd Jan 2024

Saltburn fans furious after Barry Keoghan fails to receive Oscar nomination

Stephen Porzio


In fact, Saltburn was completely shut out at the Oscars.

After months of anticipation, the Oscar nominations have finally been unveiled and though Ireland did score several nominations, it also suffered some serious snubs.

In a ceremony hosted by Jack Quaid and Zazie Beetz, Cillian Murphy as predicted scored his first Academy Award nomination for his lead turn in Oppenheimer.

Also, Irish cinematographer Robbie Ryan earned a nod for his work on Poor Things. The movie was produced by Irish company Element Pictures and was also honoured in the Best Picture category.

That said, Paul Mescal’s performance in the acclaimed romantic drama All of Us Strangers was passed over in the supporting actor category for Sterling K. Brown (American Fiction), Robert De Niro (Killers of the Flower Moon), Robert Downey Jr. (Oppenheimer), Ryan Gosling (Barbie) and Mark Ruffalo (Poor Things).

This was as Mescal’s co-star Andrew Scott, as well Saltburn lead Barry Keoghan, did not receive a nod in the Best Actor category.


Saltburn fans furious after Barry Keoghan fails to receive Oscar nomination

The Irish pair lost out to Bradley Cooper (Maestro), Colman Domingo (Rustin), Paul Giamatti (The Holdovers), Cillian Murphy (Oppenheimer) and Jeffrey Wright (American Fiction).

In particular, the snubbing of Keoghan for his role in the black comedy thriller has angered several fans, who have taken to Twitter to voice their displeasure.

As a matter of fact, Saltburn was completely shut out at the Oscars – not earning a nomination in a single category.

Other snubs many movie fans have taken issue with are Margot Robbie not scoring a nod in the Best Actress category and Greta Gerwig not being nominated for Best Director for Barbie.

You can see a list of the Oscar nominations right here:

Best Picture

  • “American Fiction,” Ben LeClair, Nikos Karamigios, Cord Jefferson and Jermaine Johnson, producers
  • “Anatomy of a Fall,” Marie-Ange Luciani and David Thion, producers
  • “Barbie,” David Heyman, Margot Robbie, Tom Ackerley and Robbie Brenner, producers
  • “The Holdovers,” Mark Johnson, producer
  • “Killers of the Flower Moon,” Dan Friedkin, Bradley Thomas, Martin Scorsese and Daniel Lupi, producers
  • “Maestro,” Bradley Cooper, Steven Spielberg, Fred Berner, Amy Durning and Kristie Macosko Krieger, producers
  • “Oppenheimer,” Emma Thomas, Charles Roven and Christopher Nolan, producers
  • “Past Lives,” David Hinojosa, Christine Vachon and Pamela Koffler, producers
  • “Poor Things,” Ed Guiney, Andrew Lowe, Yorgos Lanthimos and Emma Stone, producers
  • “The Zone of Interest,” James Wilson, producer

Best Director

  • Justine Triet — “Anatomy of a Fall”
  • Martin Scorsese — “Killers of the Flower Moon”
  • Christopher Nolan — “Oppenheimer”
  • Yorgos Lanthimos — “Poor Things”
  • Jonathan Glazer — “The Zone of Interest”

Actor in a Leading Role

  • Bradley Cooper — “Maestro”
  • Colman Domingo — “Rustin”
  • Paul Giamatti — “The Holdovers”
  • Cillian Murphy — “Oppenheimer”
  • Jeffrey Wright — “American Fiction”

Actress in a Leading Role

  • Annette Bening — “Nyad”
  • Lily Gladstone — “Killers of the Flower Moon”
  • Sandra Hüller — “Anatomy of a Fall”
  • Carey Mulligan — “Maestro”
  • Emma Stone — “Poor Things”

Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Sterling K. Brown — “American Fiction”
  • Robert De Niro – “Killers of the Flower Moon”
  • Robert Downey Jr. — “Oppenheimer”
  • Ryan Gosling — “Barbie”
  • Mark Ruffalo — “Poor Things”

Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Emily Blunt — “Oppenheimer”
  • Danielle Brooks — “The Color Purple”
  • America Ferrera – “Barbie”
  • Jodie Foster — “Nyad”
  • Da’Vine Joy Randolph — “The Holdovers”

Adapted Screenplay

  • “American Fiction,” written for the screen by Cord Jefferson
  • “Barbie,” written by Greta Gerwig and Noah Baumbach
  • “Oppenheimer,” written for the screen by Christopher Nolan
  • “Poor Things,” screenplay by Tony McNamara
  • “The Zone of Interest,” written by Jonathan Glazer

Original Screenplay

  • “Anatomy of a Fall,” screenplay by Justine Triet and Arthur Harari
  • “The Holdovers,” written by David Hemingson
  • “Maestro,” written by Bradley Cooper and Josh Singer
  • “May December,” screenplay by Samy Burch; story by Samy Burch and Alex Mechanik
  • “Past Lives,” written by Celine Song


  • “El Conde” – Edward Lachman
  • “Killers of the Flower Moon” – Rodrigo Prieto
  • “Maestro” – Matthew Libatique
  • “Oppenheimer” – Hoyte van Hoytema
  • “Poor Things” – Robbie Ryan

Original Song

  • “The Fire Inside” from “Flamin’ Hot,” music and lyric by Diane Warren
  • “I’m Just Ken” from “Barbie,” music and lyric by Mark Ronson and Andrew Wyatt
  • “It Never Went Away” from “American Symphony,” music and lyric by Jon Batiste and Dan Wilson
  • “Wahzhazhe (A Song For My People)” from “Killers of the Flower Moon,” music and lyric by Scott George
  • “What Was I Made For?” from “Barbie,” music and lyric by Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell

Costume Design

  • “Barbie”
  • “Killers of the Flower Moon”
  • “Napoleon”
  • “Oppenheimer”
  • “Poor Things”


  • “The Creator”
  • “Maestro”
  • “Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One”
  • “Oppenheimer”
  • “The Zone of Interest”

Original Score

  • “American Fiction” – Laura Karpman
  • “Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny” John Williams
  • “Killers of the Flower Moon” – Robbie Robertson
  • “Oppenheimer” – Ludwig Göransson
  • “Poor Things” – Jerskin Fendrix

Live Action Short Film

  • “The After”
  • “Invincible”
  • “Knight of Fortune”
  • “Red, White and Blue”
  • “The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar”

Animated Short Film

  • “Letter to a Pig”
  • “Ninety-Five Senses”
  • “Our Uniform”
  • “Pachyderme”
  • “War Is Over! Inspired by the Music of John & Yoko”

Documentary Feature Film

  • “Bobi Wine: The People’s President”
  • “The Eternal Memory”
  • “Four Daughters”
  • “To Kill a Tiger”
  • “20 Days in Mariupol”

Documentary Short Film

  • “The ABCs of Book Banning”
  • “The Barber of Little Rock”
  • “Island in Between”
  • “The Last Repair Shop”
  • “Nǎi Nai & Wài Pó”

International Feature Film

  • “Io Capitano” (Italy)
  • “Perfect Days” (Japan)
  • “Society of the Snow” (Spain)
  • “The Teachers’ Lounge” (Germany)
  • “The Zone of Interest” (United Kingdom)

Animated Feature Film

  • “The Boy and the Heron”
  • “Elemental”
  • “Nimona”
  • “Robot Dreams”
  • “Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse”

Makeup and Hairstyling

  • “Golda”
  • “Maestro”
  • “Oppenheimer”
  • “Poor Things”
  • “Society of the Snow”

Production Design

  • “Barbie”
  • “Killers of the Flower Moon”
  • “Napoleon”
  • “Oppenheimer”
  • “Poor Things”

Film Editing

  • “Anatomy of a Fall”
  • “The Holdovers”
  • “Killers of the Flower Moon”
  • “Oppenheimer”
  • “Poor Things”

Visual Effects

  • “The Creator”
  • “Godzilla Minus One”
  • “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3”
  • “Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One”
  • “Napoleon”

Read more:

LISTEN: You Must Be Jokin’ with Aideen McQueen – Faith healers, Coolock craic and Gigging as Gaeilge