Fans of Gone Girl and Big Little Lies should be very excited by this upcoming mystery thriller 4 months ago

Fans of Gone Girl and Big Little Lies should be very excited by this upcoming mystery thriller

"Everybody has a dark side. Some of us are better at hiding it than others."

Based on the best-selling novel by Darcey Bell, the upcoming adaptation of A Simple Favour will be a big hit for fans of those big hit mystery thrillers like Gone Girl and The Girl On The Train.

The story is simple enough, kicking off with a widowed mommy blogger Stephanie (Anna Kendrick - Pitch Perfect, Up In The Air) as she befriends an impossibly glamorous new arrival Emily (Blake Lively - Gossip Girl, The Shallows) in their small town.

They very quickly become best friends, and one day Emily simply disappears, leaving behind a husband and young son, and - of course - Stephanie, who takes it upon herself to help out with the investigation of her missing friend, and soon discovers that she didn't know this woman as well as she thought she did...

While that all sounds fairly standard for a mystery (half of us are already thinking the husband did it, and the other half are probably thinking Stephanie herself did it), the big surprise here is that Paul Feig has taken on directing and adapting duties, as his usual penchant for comedies - he's the guy behind Bridesmaids, Spy, The Heat and some of the best episodes of Arrested Development - means that he may be coming at this story with a very unique point of view.

Advertisement

A Simple Favour arrives in cinemas here from Friday 21 September, and you can check out the trailer right here:

Clip via LionsgateFilmsUK