Search icon


31st Jan 2018

Here are the 10 tracks up for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Song of the Year

Dave Hanratty

Wyvern Lingo

Who gets your pick?

The 10 best Irish songs of 2017 according to those judging this year’s RTÉ Choice Music Prize have been announced.

The shortlist was revealed by Tracy Clifford on 2FM on Wednesday afternoon, and the winner will be decided by the public.

Here are the 10 songs that will battle it out for this year’s honour:

The Academic | ‘Bear Claws’

Clip via TheAcademicVEVO

Áine Cahill | ‘Plastic’

Clip via LABrecordsUK

Chasing Abbey | ‘That Good Thing’

Clip via Chasing Abbey

Tandem Felix | ‘Were You There (When They Crucified The Birthday Boy?)’

Clip via Tandem Felix

Niall Horan | ‘Slow Hands’

Clip via NiallHoranVEVO

Gavin James | ‘I Don’t Know Why’

Clip via Gavin James

Dermot Kennedy | ‘Glory’

Clip via DermotKennedyVEVO

The Script | ‘Rain’

Clip via TheScriptVEVO

Soulé | ‘Good Life’


Wyvern Lingo | ‘I Love You, Sadie’

Clip via Wyvern Lingo

To vote for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Song of the Year 2017, click here.

Votes are limited to one per person per day. Only votes cast in the Republic of Ireland will be counted.

Voting closes at midnight on Sunday 4 March, with the winner revealed, alongside the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Album of the Year, on Thursday 8 March.

LISTEN: You Must Be Jokin’ with Aideen McQueen – Faith healers, Coolock craic and Gigging as Gaeilge