Listen: U2 release their new single 'Get Out Of Your Own Way' featuring Kendrick Lamar 5 years ago

Listen: U2 release their new single 'Get Out Of Your Own Way' featuring Kendrick Lamar

This is what a comeback sounds like.

While it doesn't feel a band as big and popular as U2 need to make a comeback, you'll remember that in 2014 they released Songs Of Innocence directly on everyone's iPhones, and the not-super-well-reviewed album became a bit of a flop.


2009's No Line On The Horizon was better reviewed, but didn't have much in the way of hit singles. You have to go all the way back to 2004's How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb's first single 'Vertigo' for the last time things were really popular for the band.

That looks set to change now though, as they release the next single from Songs Of Experience, following the opening single 'You're The Best Thing About Me'.

Ladies and gentlemen, here is 'Get Out Of Your Own Way, featuring Kendrick Lamar.


Kendrick, you'll remember, had the Irish foursome on his DAMN. album track 'XXX', and probably explains why he has returned the favour here.

But... is it just us, or does his spoken word verse at the end sound like he is just getting started? Could this be the intro to a full on Kendrick verse, possibly on the following album track, 'American Soul'?

We'll know for certain when Songs Of Experience is released on Friday 1 December, and here is the full track-listing:

1. “Love Is All We Have Left”
2. “Lights of Home”
3. “You’re The Best Thing About Me”
4. “Get Out of Your Own Way”
5. “American Soul”
6. “Summer of Love”
7. “Red Flag Day”
8. “The Showman (Little More Better)”
9. “The Little Things That Give You Away”
10. “Landlady”
11. “The Blackout”
12. “Love Is Bigger Than Anything in Its Way”
13. “13 (There is a Light)”