Here's the full list of the 42 schools around Ireland that are facing structural inspections 2 years ago

Here's the full list of the 42 schools around Ireland that are facing structural inspections

There might be a few in your county.

The Department of Education has released the full list of 42 schools that were built by Western Building Systems which are being examined for structural safety issues.


As stated previously, three school buildings have already closed so far following inspections by the Department of Education, affecting about 1,300 students.

With regards to the buildings that were already closed, structural problems were found in the fabric of the buildings.

On this note, inspection work is already being carried out on the following schools:


Macroom Boys National School (2009)

Gaelscoil Mhichíl Uí Choileáin, Clonakilty, Co Cork (2013)

Carrigaline Educate Together National School (2013)


Scoil Phadraig Naofa, Rochestown (2013)

Cara Junior school, Mayfield (2014)


Letterkenny Educate Together National School (2017)



Griffeen Valley Educate Together National School (2003)

Rush & Lusk Educate Together National School (2008)

Argillan Community College (phase one), Balbriggan (2009)

St. Francis of Assisi, Belmayne (2008)


Belmayne Educate Together National School (2008)

Tyrelstown Educate Together National School (2011)

Lucan East Educate Together National School (2011)

St Luke’s National School, Tyrelstown (2012)


Gaelscoil Eiscir Riada, Lucan (2012)

Scoil Chormaic Community National School

Scoil Choilm, Porterstown (2013)

Luttrellstown Community College (2013)

Gaelscoil Shliabh Rua, Stepaside/Ballogan (2014)

Scoil Chaitlin Maude, Kiltalown(2016)

Scoil Aoife, Citywest (2016)

Lucan Community National School

Broombridge Educate Together National School

Castlemills Education Centre (formerly occupied by Scoil Chormaic Community National School) (2012)

Firhouse Educate Together National School (2017)

Gaelscoil Teach Giuise (2018)


Galway Educate Together National School (2018)


Athy Model School (2011)

Scoil Phadraig Naofa (new school) (2011)

Gaelscoil Atha Í (2011)

Gaelscoil Mhic Aodha (2018)


Portarlington Convent National School (2012)

Maryborough National School (2013)

Gaelscoil Portlaoise (2013)

Portlaoise Educate Together (2013)


St Paul’s National School, Ratoath (2011)

Gaelscoil Tulach na Og, Dunboyne (2016)

Gaelscoil na Mí, Ashbourne

Ashbourne Educate Together National School (2016)

Coláiste De Lacy, Ashbourne (2016)


Mullingar Educate Together (2008)


St Joseph’s National School, Gorey (2018)


Greystones Educate Together National School (2008)

All the schools listed above were constructed by Western Building Systems and inspection work is expected to be completed by the end of next week's mid-term break.

The Department of Education released the following statement: "The Department of Education and Skills is working to provide every support and advice necessary to other schools which were constructed by Western Building Systems. A dedicated communications team has been established within the Department which includes focal contact points for Principals.  All Principals and patrons have been contacted by phone and email and the Department will continue to keep them fully updated on development."

Education Minister Joe McHugh added: “I have asked my officials in conjunction with the project managers to advance the structural assessments as quickly as possible, including over the coming weekend. I want to try and get as many of the assessments as possible completed by the end of next week”.