Met Éireann extends weather warning to 11 counties 1 year ago

Met Éireann extends weather warning to 11 counties

The warning comes into effect at 4pm on Tuesday.

Met Éireann has issued a Status Yellow rainfall warning for a number of counties across the country.


A warning had been issued on Monday which affected seven counties but Met Éireann extended that warning on Tuesday morning to cover 11 counties.

The warning affects Wicklow, Cavan, Donegal, Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Sligo, Clare, Cork, Kerry and Waterford.

It's valid from 4pm on Tuesday until 12pm on Wednesday.

The warning states spells of heavy rain will move eastward across Ireland on Tuesday evening and into Wednesday morning.

These showers will bring 25mm to 40mm in some areas and there will be a risk of some localised flooding.

The highest amounts of rain are expected to fall in the southwest of the country as well as in mountainous areas.

Wednesday will be wet and blustery over much of the country to start and there will be heavy rain in the east for a time with a continued risk of spot flooding.


As the day continues, brighter and sunnier weather will stretch across Ireland from the west with some occasional showers at times, but most of the rain will pass on from the east by the afternoon.

It looks set to be colder and more unsettled from Wednesday night onwards with some thundery and hail showers overnight and temperatures dropping as low as 2 degrees in some places.

There will also be heavy showers on Thursday with the potential for some thundery and hail showers. It will be cool with highest temperatures of between 10 and 12 degrees.