Met Éireann issues weather warning for seven counties 3 weeks ago

Met Éireann issues weather warning for seven counties

It's one of those weeks.

Met Éireann has issued a Status Yellow rainfall warning for seven counties across Ireland this week.

It affects Wexford, Wicklow, Galway, Mayo, Cork, Kerry and Waterford and is valid from 9pm on Tuesday until 12pm on Wednesday.

The warning was issued by the weather service at 11am on Monday morning.

It appears heavy rain is on the way, with Met Éireann saying "intense rainfall" will bring accumulations of between 25mm to 40mm.

With such high totals expected, there is a risk of localised flooding in some areas.

Met Éireann has said the rain will clear western counties by early Wednesday morning.

Overall, the week will begin reasonably mild before giving way to cooler and unsettled weather from midweek onwards.

On Tuesday, rain in the west and southwest will turn heavy and persistent but will then extend countrywide.

This rain will transition to showers in the west from dawn on Wednesday and sunnier conditions with scattered showers will gradually extend to most parts through the morning.

Current indications suggest Thursday and Friday will be unsettled with some heavy showers, some of which may be thundery.