Here’s where every Government minister will be spending St. Patrick’s Day abroad this year 4 years ago

Here’s where every Government minister will be spending St. Patrick’s Day abroad this year

Nice work if you can get it.

Irish Government ministers will once again travel all over world to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day in 2019.


As is the usual custom, our Taoiseach, Leo Varadkar, will visit the President of the United States, Donald Trump, in the White House, one of a number of scheduled stops for Varadkar on his trip Stateside.

Speaking about the tradition, Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Simon Coveney said:"St. Patrick’s Day offers a unique opportunity to promote Ireland around the world, to celebrate our heritage and renew our bonds with the global Irish family."

Here is where everyone is headed this March:

USA: An Taoiseach, Leo Varadkar


USA: Minister for Rural and Community Development, Michael Ring

USA: Attorney General, Seamus Woulfe

USA: Minister for Rural and Community Development, Michael Ring

USA: Minister for Health, Simon Harris


USA: Minister for Higher Education, Mary Mitchell O’Connor

USA: Minister of State for Equality, Immigration and Integration, David Stanton

USA and Canada: Minister of State for the Diaspora and Development, Ciaran Cannon

China:  Minister for Education and Skills, Joe McHugh


United Kingdom: Minister for Finance and Public Expenditure & Reform, Paschal Donohoe

Canada:  Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment, Richard Bruton

Australia: Minister of State for Housing and Urban Development, Damian English

Spain and Portugal: Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine

Italy and Malta: Minister for Employment Affairs and Social Protection, Regina Doherty


Finland: Minister for Education and Skills, Joe McHugh

Cyprus, Lebanon and Jordan: Minister for Defence, Paul Kehoe

Denmark and Sweden: Minister of State for European Affairs, Helen McEntee

Germany and Holland: Minister of State for Financial Services and Insurance, Michael D’Arcy

France and Luxembourg:  Minister of State for Training, Skills, Innovation, Research and Development, John Halligan

Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania: Minister of State for Local Government and Electoral Reform, John Paul Phelan

Slovakia, Austria and Hungary: Minister of State for Health Promotion and the National Drugs Strategy, Catherine Byrne

Slovenia, Croatia and Bosnia: Minister of State for Food, Forestry and Horticulture, Andrew Doyle

Poland and Czech Republic: Minister of State for the Office of Public Works and Flood Relief, Kevin Boxer Moran

Greece, Romania and Bulgaria: Minister of State for Natural Resources, Community Affairs and Digital Development, Sean Canne

Scotland: Minister of State for Tourism and Sport, Brendan Griffin

Russia: Cathaoirleach of Seanad Éireann, Senator Denis O'Donovan

United Arab Emirates:  Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport, Shane Ross

South Africa, Namibia and Botswana: Minister for Children and Youth Affairs, Katherine Zappone

Mexico and Cuba: Minister of State for Disability Issues, Finian McGrathBrazil: Ceann Comhairle of Dáil Éireann, Seán Ó Fearghaíl

Colombia, Paraguay and Uruguay: Minister of State for Trade, Employment, Business, EU Digital Single Market and Data Protection, Pat Breen

Argentina and Chile: Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government, Eoghan Murphy

India: Minister of State for Mental Health and Older People, Jim Daly

USA: Government Chief Whip and Minister of State for Gaeilge, Gaeltacht and the Islands, Seán Kyne

South Korea and Japan: Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Josepha Madigan

Australia, New Zealand and Singapore: Minister for Business, Enterprise and Innovation, Heather Humphreys

Vietnam, Thailand and Malaysia: Minister of State for Public Procurement, Open Government and eGovernment, Patrick O’Donovan