Ronan O'Gara has been inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame 7 months ago

Ronan O'Gara has been inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame

Amazing achievement for an amazing player.

Munster and Ireland legend Ronan O'Gara will officially take his place among the greats after World Rugby announced that he'll be joining their hall of fame.

Aside from O'Gara, Liza Burgess (Wales), Stephen Larkham (Australia), Pierre Villepreux (France) and Bryan Williams (New Zealand) will also be inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame.

It's a fitting tribute for Ireland's second most-capped player because his list of accomplishments is astonishing.

In terms of provincial rugby, he played for sixteen seasons with Munster where he won two Heineken Cups, three Pro 14s and the Celtic Cup.

On the international front, O'Gara won 128 caps for Ireland where he won three Triple Crowns and most famously, sealed the Grand Slam in 2009 with that dramatic drop-goal in Cardiff.

There's also his incredibly impressive feat of appearing on three British and Irish Lions tours. Since retiring, his coaching career has been excellent and he recently won the Super Rugby title in first season with Crusaders.

The World Rugby Hall of Fame recognises those who have made an outstanding contribution to the game of rugby throughout their careers, while also demonstrating rugby's character-building values of integrity, passion, solidarity, discipline and respect.

O'Gara and the other inductees will be honoured at a special ceremony on 12 September.

These five inductees bring the total in the Hall of Fame to 142 since it began in 2006.

Speaking about the latest inductees, World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said: “The World Rugby Hall of Fame importantly acknowledges and celebrates the true legends of the game, celebrating those who have made outstanding contributions throughout their careers while embodying rugby’s values. On behalf of the rugby family we would like to congratulate this year’s five new inductees, Stephen Larkham, Ronan O’Gara, Pierre Villepreux, Byran Williams and Liza Burgess as they are recognised and honoured for their immense contributions to rugby.

A cracking achievement and his former teammate Brian O'Driscoll led the tributes to O'Gara's remarkable career.