Met Éireann issues weather warning for 15 counties 2 years ago

Met Éireann issues weather warning for 15 counties

It's going to be wet.

Met Éireann has issued a Status Yellow rainfall warning for 15 counties.


The warning was issued at 9am on Friday morning and is active from 9pm on Friday until 12pm on Sunday, affecting Connacht, Longford, Offaly, Westmeath, Cavan, Monaghan, Clare, Cork, Kerry, Limerick and Tipperary.

Met Éireann has said that very heavy rain is expected to develop overnight and into Saturday and brings with it the possibility of some spot flooding, with between 25 and 35mm of rain expected.

The rain will turn to snow for a time in parts of north Ulster with some accumulations likely, especially on higher ground.

On Saturday it will be very wet and blustery across much of the country with spells of heavy rain and strong winds.

However, the rain will ease in the afternoon and will clear to sunshine and blustery showers after some hail and thunder.

There's also a Status Yellow snow and ice warning in place for Donegal which is valid from 12am to 12pm on Saturday and will bring with it snow on higher ground and create poor driving conditions.