Search icon


09th Jul 2024

Met Éireann issues major rain warning for 18 counties

Kat O'Connor

Met Éireann rain warning

A status yellow rain warning has been issued

We’ve all given up on any hopes of a summer, right? Sunny weather seems to have avoided Ireland for another week with Met Éireann issuing a status yellow rain warning for 18 counties.

According to the forecaster, there will be heavy downpours throughout the day.

18 counties have been served with a status yellow rain warning including Cavan, Monaghan, Leitrim, Roscommon, Tipperary, and Waterford, as well as all of Leinster.

Met Éireann confirmed there will be heavy and persistent rain throughout the day.

The warning was issued at 4 am this morning and will remain until 4 am on Wednesday, July 10th.

The public has been urged to be cautious amid the warning with localised flooding expected.

They have also been warned about driving in these conditions due to difficult travelling conditions, as well as poor visibility.

Conditions will ease tomorrow, July 10th with a rise in temperatures.

Met Éireann confirmed, “Wednesday will continue mostly cloudy over much of the northern half of the country with further outbreaks of rain and drizzle and with highest temperatures of 13 to 17 degrees. It will be brighter further south with some sunny spells and highs of 17 to 20 degrees.”

Read more:

LISTEN: You Must Be Jokin’ with Aideen McQueen – Faith healers, Coolock craic and Gigging as Gaeilge