There are some familiar names in the latest Ireland squad 9 years ago

There are some familiar names in the latest Ireland squad

The first Ireland team to be named after the end of Trap's reign sees a few familiar names back in the fold

There has been a change at the helm since the last Ireland squad announcement by the now departed Giovanni Trapattoni, as Noel King took on the duties of revealing the latest squad for the upcoming matches against Germany and Kazakhstan today.


He named a provisional 26 man squad, although had to deal with the suspensions to both John O'Shea and Richard Dunne who will be out for the Germany game.

The most notable inclusion was expected to be that of Darron Gibson, who had his troubles with the Italian but is back in the fold after today's announcement, but Andy Reid's name has also made the provisional squad after a long period in exile too, which is a very interesting turn of events. Robbie Brady has been declared ineligible as Hull are sending him for surgery, but he has been named too, although he most likely won't be in the final squad.

The squad in full is: David Forde, Keiren Westwood, Darren Randolph, Joey O’Brien, Sean St Ledger, Marc Wilson, Seamus Coleman, Stephen Kelly, Ciaran Clark, Paul McShane, Darron Gibson, Glenn Whelan, James McCarthy, Paul Green, Andy Reid, Aiden McGeady, Anthony Pilkington, James McClean, Robbie Brady, Stephen Quinn, Wes Hoolahan, Shane Long, Robbie Keane, Jonathan Walters, Kevin Doyle, Anthony Stokes